Race.

I could’ve stayed home today
but I’m seeking inspiration
I should’ve stayed home today
it’s the same old vortex in a class
that eats my heart away
(I wonder what she think when she’s caught up in your lips)
I guess I’m my own inspiration
as always
but
especially
today
compliments
but I’m not feeling it today.
once you’re bruised
it takes more than a day
You’re lucky your troubles aren’t similar to ours,
especially
today
you’re lucky everyday
institutionalized because they don’t want you to win the marathon, their race
I won’t be first in the race
I’m a statistic
it’s probably because of my race
I could’ve stayed home
but instead I’m focused on the race
they focus on my speech, clothes, culture, and my race
they focus on my race
winning
their marathon, their race
you’re lucky everyday.

 

C0c0nut Milk

I’m drinking coconut milk
I sip it from the jar I recycled
a dab of cinnamon in my coconut milk
I chopped bananas mangos and oranges as my side too
truly.
I want to pack my things, plants and dog, and
just leave.
Be careful with the leaves! They’re sensitive,
They’re sensitive, just like She.
I question reality
I’m nauseous from 1 2 & 3
I’m drinking coconut milk
I threw a flower in my jar to make it pink
Hibiscus.
Butterflies surround She.
It’s almost as if I’m complete
Last night, He made love to She
I didn’t see
but I know it wasn’t me.
petty petty little thing
I’m drinking coconut milk
I’m his favorite pink.
I’m his favorite drink.

He made love to another She.
I drink this coconut milk
It’s too bad all he thought of was me.

Hello, I am She.

Race Matters

The country is in deep trouble. We’ve forgotten that a rich life consists fundamentally of serving others, trying to leave the world a little better than you found it. We need the courage to question the powers that be, the courage to be impatient with evil and patient with people, the courage to fight for social justice. In many instances we will be stepping out on nothing, and just hoping to land on something. But that’s the struggle. To live is to wrestle with despair, yet never allow despair to have the last word.

Cornel West.