Adagio: barefoot Dancer

It’s time for Adagio.
My Curly hair styled in a low bun.
Halter leotard, black tights, and bare feet…
No ballet shoes. No pink tights.
I stand in front of the mirror. One light beams on the crown of me. I look in the mirror.
It’s 7:30 p.m. Like my shadow in this dark studio I’m inseparable from me.
My head tilts. Arms and feet in 5th position.
Soft fingers. shoulders down. long neck. rib cage in. Core strong, and soft.  tucked tail bone. Legs straight. All 5 toes touch the ground.
I’m present.
I’m tall and I’m beautiful. But,
I’m a barefoot dancer.
I may even let my hair down.
I say this softly in front of the mirror assertively. I whisper,
Rebellion
In the studio my body embraces endurance and technique. My physical instrument…
I attempt to create language so eloquently.
In the studio one light beams on the crown of me.
Piano plays. Musicality.
I pointe my feet.
No ballet shoes. No pink tights.
I fall to the floor and release the positions of me.
On the floor I release my hair from bun. My hair falls dramatically.
My curly hair is heavy. So, this bun is too heavy for me.
My lightness increases my energy.
Piano plays. Musicality.
I sway my ribs.
Center rotates.
Inextricably.
I dance low on the floor with ground.
It’s a state of high for physicality.
Mind, Spirit, and Body.
I perform my body’s lexicon, variety.
In strength, technique, and flexibility I communicate tremendously.
I move, jump, and spin.
I evoke the concept of dance. I think of…
Breath. Action. Movement. Space. Time. Energy.
Hair and I drenched in sweat. I’m refreshed.
I’m a presentation of expression existing in me.
Chassé to tour jete. I leap.
I hear the rhythm of breath in harmony with Heart beat.
I move with precision.
I create lines with my fingers, arms, legs, and feet.
My body pauses.
In the dark studio I look around to see what surrounds me.
I’m alone in the Garden Room.
Glass windows and doors.
Through glass mirrors I see the rain fill the pond.
The pond fills with rain and water while I dance in front of the mirror to the east of me.
It’s raining.
Hair and I drenched in sweat. I’m refreshed
This physical training is exhilarating.
In motion I fall. I’ve fallen in motion.
I stand in front of the mirror. One light beams on the crown of me. I look in the mirror.
I’m a barefoot dancer.

I’m present. I’m tall and I’m beautiful. Improvisation.
It’s 9:15 p.m. We were suppose to perform Adagio…

Amaris Jacobs
She.

Leave a Reply

