Self Portraits

IMG_1840IMG_1852

Self portrait by/& of Remmy Sleuco, a graphics design and screen painting Artist

.

She is Art.

My friend Remy is also a dancer. What an honor and privilege to know a talented beauty! As a random gift, She let me choose and keep 1 of her recently produced Art work. If I remember correctly She approximately had 5-6 variations of this Art Self Portrait. Each piece is gorgeous as they range in patterns, texture, and color. I picked this specific piece because I admired the feminine aspect. It’s a bold image of sultry Woman. I wanted to resonate with her. I asked what inspired her.. her response was simple, “Pink Floyd and psychedelics”. Thank you for the gift! I love it. It inspired me to take 2017 Self Portrait.

The “Selfie”/Self portrait above of She features a gift my father gave me when I was 8 years old or so.  I traveled nostalagia with the laminated and framed print behind She. As a child, my dad made little She recite the laminated words to him. It’s one of my fondest memories. He is Art. I love and appreciate the shape, color, and sandy texture of the frame he selected, too!

My excitement from Remmy’s gift caused curiosity. She invited me to join her Artistic process. I took a random Art voyage to her graphics design class and roamed. I was a stranger to this world. Inside, I saw other student’s ridiculous print work. Art is Alive.

Remy is a student, dancer, and artist. She’s working on a new piece. I was able to get a sneak peak! One word to describe it: *Explosive*. I won’t share more since Art can be an intimate process. Still, I hope to have an opportunity to present her work again. The snippet of her process produced memories..

As a little girl, my father and I took trips to supply stores (similar to “kinkos” or “Fed Ex”) to enlarge word prints. Together we laminated and framed our favorite poem poster titled “Attitude”. During our printing sessions, stranger’s curiosity inflicted. What were this father and daughter up to anyways..? I recall several individuals who loved the printed words. My dad always printed extra copies. Those who showed genuine admiration were randomly gifted a printed poster by my dad and I. I recall friendly days with him and strangers. I share with you “Attitude” by anonymous..

+

Attitude by “anonymous”.

The longer I live the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude to me is more important than facts. It’s more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than what other people say or do. It is more important than appearance, or skill. It will make or break a company, a church, a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for the day. We cannot change the fact that people will act a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one thing we have and that is our attitude, I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it. And so it is with you, we are in charge of our attitudes.

Leave a Reply

