Sun(i)Rise

Maya Angelou’s ‘I Rise’ (Rendition)

Often imitated, but never duplicated. Inspired to be Unique within You.

*

How dare I forget my worth, my value, my voice? Yes Ms. Angelou, I Rise. I rise from brokenness. I rise from ache and pain. I rise from abuse. I rise from years of agony. I rise from the shadows and valleys. There my light hid. I rise from mental, physical, and spiritual brutality inflicted upon my ancestors and I. My voice was weak and forgotten. I found my strength in You. I rise. I rise to speak Truth. I rise to spread Love. I rise for the entity I exist and live for, my Jah, God. How dare I permit others to devalue my Talents, Gifts, and Knowledge?  How dare they strip and attempt to break me to pieces? How dare they take what is mine? How dare they forget Heart? And how dare I forget Mine? I clench to Dignity and Self respect. Who am I? I am the Sun, I Rise. I am Worthy. I am Unique. I am Strength, Truth, and Love. Dare I permit brokenness to steal the core of me, of She? I dare never to let others devalue Me. No one can devalue She. I am Unique. Look at me. Look at Me. Look at She. Jah said “Woman, a sight to See.” I am a sight because I Rise for He. I’ve risen and you’ve witnessed Me. You witness She. Enamored. Entrenched. Lost because you saw Whole in me. How dare I forget I’m a standard in my obsolete? I Rise. I am a force some desperately try to defeat. I rise from disrespect to set Respect. I Rise. I rise from lust to accept Real Love. I rise from anger, I Forgive. I rise, I am Refined. I rise. How dare I forget my worth, my value, my voice? Yes Ms. Angelou, I rise. I rise from brokenness.

I rise like the Sun. I rise to be Light. I rise to warm Flesh. I rise to be your nutrient. I rise to Be. I rise to be Greatness. I will fall and I will Rise, again and again. I rise. I rise like the Sun, with out permission, We know our mission. I Rise. I am Worthy. Unique.

Unapologetically. I. Rise. 

Leave a Reply

